TO BE DELIVERED TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES



Background: In this document, South Carolina officially announced that it was leaving the United States to join a new country: the Confederate States of America. South Carolina's announcement was followed by several other states; by Lincoln's inauguration to the presidency in March of 1861, the following states had seceded: Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas.

South Carolina Ordinance of Secession December 20, 1860

AN ORDINANCE

To Dissolve the Union between the State of South Carolina and other States united with her under the compact entitled "The Constitution of the United States of America."

We, the People of the State of South Carolina, in Convention assembled, do declare and ordain, and it is hereby declared and ordained,

That the Ordinance adopted by us in Convention, on the twenty-third day of May, in the year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and eighty-eight, whereby the Constitution of the United States of America was ratified, and also, all Acts and parts of Acts of the General Assembly of this State, ratifying amendments of the said Constitution, are hereby repealed; and that the union now subsisting between South Carolina and other States, under the name of "The United States of America," is hereby dissolved.

Done at Charleston the twentieth day of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixty.